Off the Map

So I know I have been off the map since, oh, this blog basically started. And that is because I couldn’t Whole30 may way to health.

Before you get confused, yes I am still Paleo, but vegetable restrictions, no nuts, and limited fruits my Whole30 would crash and burn every 4 days because my food was becoming so monotonous. I couldn’t do it. I needed to bake. I LOVE BAKING. Also, until about 1 1/2 months ago, I refused to eat any meat except chicken. Yes, I was Paleo for 8 months on chicken and eggs. I was a vegan for about 1 1/2 years, so getting myself to mentally eat red meat was such a challenge. It grossed me out! But I decided I needed to start eating to get my iron levels up, and you know what I  discovered in the process? Steak is amazing. Amazing. Seriously, how did I need eat it for 1 1/2 years?

Which leads me to, what the heck am I eating now?

Basically, after what seems like a billion doctor’s appointments, they still do not know what’s wrong with me. Frustrating, right? It would seem so, but they are actually for closer to figuring out what is wrong with me. And I know the answers will be revealed in God’s timing. I’ve gotten so many tests done. SO MANY. SOOOOO MANY. I really can’t even remember for what, but what I can remember is when it comes to eating my stomach/intestinal issues this is what they have figured out:

1. I am SEVERELY gluten intolerant. I don’t eat gluten anyways (that would be a faileo), but I have diverged and ate real bread once or twice and I felt like death afterwards. That explains things.

2. I am intolerant to spinach, tomatoes, and black pepper. Whaaaat? I eat those foods everyday and have never experienced any issues. Just to humor my mom, and I suppose myself, I am going to stop eating my salad that consists of 3 cups of spinach, and switch over to romaine lettuce for a little while.

3. All of the foods I have been avoiding that aren’t low FODMAP are approved for me! Especially, broccoli, cauliflower, garlic, and onions. Honestly, I am pretty sure I am sensitive to those foods. So, still not eating them.

4. I personally discovered that I am sensitive to bananas. I never liked them much anyways but they are so versatile in baking! Have I mentioned I love baking?

Which leads me to once again, what am I eating now?

I recently went on the 21 Day Sugar Detox level 3 for 2 weeks, and I felt amazing! No fruit=happy belly. Seriously, has this been my problem all along? Fruit sugar? And the occasional honey and maple syrup in my baked goodies? I have had very little stomach aches and pains and less bloating and gas (sorry for the TMI). I’ve been doing a lot of research on my own, and my symptoms and symptom relief are typically indicative of Candida. I have even more  symptoms that fit this possible diagnosis, such as INTENSE cravings for sugar. Like, hardcore. Throughout doctor visits I was always asked if I craved salt to maybe narrow down diagnosis for certain diseases. I said no- I always want sweets. Well, according to some websites, yeast bacteria feed off sugar and so your body craves it. You then eat it, and the bacteria grows; it’s a vicious cycle. Which is why my 21 Day Sugar Detox ended after 14 days. I WANTED SUGAR. And no, not chocolate or candy. FRUIT. I caved in, but I feel so much better without it.

So, I am back on the 21 Day Sugar Detox and I am allowing myself 1 green apple a day, not only is it allowed, but it keeps me somewhat sane. I am being tested for Candida by my doctor, so hopefully they figure out what is going on, among other things. But until then, I’ll keep on keeping on knowing that God has a far larger plan for my life than I could ever ask or imagine.

Leave a Reply

