I’m Walkin’ on Sunshine

woah! And don’t it feel good?

I’ve been using songs to describe my past 2 days, but that’s what music is- the soundtrack for our lives. It’s true though, today was great! The best I’ve been in awhile! Sure, I had minor issues, but that sure beats being doubled over in the fetal position from stomach pain.

I woke up at 6:30 am (ugh, why?) and laid in bed for a little while to nurse my typical morning stomachache. It seems that I can’t sleep more than 7 and a half hours these days. I think I just have a lot on mind. Luckily, I got to speak to my best friend, Hillary, on the phone last night for a long time. Best friends are well, the best. Shocker. When I finally got up, I went downstairs to have my 2 VSL#3 pills and then messed around for a little while, before I decided to make myself some breakfast.  At about 7:50 am I had my egg whites, ground turkey, and the last of my zucchini noodles. I’m so sad about it too! What vegetable am I going to have for breakfast now? Carrot fries? Bell peppers?

As I was eating breakfast, I started thinking to myself: hypothetically, if I had children, what would I feed them for breakfast? Seriously, on a Paleo diet I feel like most breakfasts are eggs or meat with some vegetables and fruit. When I grew up I either had cereal or nothing for breakfast. But Paleo doesn’t have cereal. Sure, there are homemade granolas, but kids will eat through that pretty fast. When I have kids, am I going to have to make them a hot breakfast everyday? Maybe I’ll make a breakfast hash or casserole that can last a couple of days and just be reheated, or homemade breads and bars to grab and bring on the bus… these are things I think about. Odd, I know.

Then at 9:00 am I started getting hungry again. I think my appetite is finally coming back, and I read once that if you have too much of a calorie deficit on one day, your body will make up for it on other days. So I had a kiwi. Mmm, I hadn’t had one of those in awhile.

My mom and I then went on a golf cart ride and looked at houses being built. I remarked to her how well I felt yesterday and how well I was feeling today- so much of my bloat has gone away and today is only day 6! I’m sure the fact that I’ve been eating less has helped, but I’m sure the diet and probiotics are helping too. Once we returned home, I took a nap, because once again, I had a restless sleep last night. I napped for an hour, woke up at 12:10 pm and promptly ate lunch at 12:25 pm. Honestly, I wasn’t hungry and even had a stomachache from post nap, but I felt a little weak and I was looking forward to last nights leftovers. I was going to save them for dinner, but they were too delicious to wait for! I heated up the last of that Paleomg.com summer squash meatball casserole. I forgot how spicy it was!

It was a cloudy day here, so I couldn’t go to the pool, so I stayed in my pajamas and watched movies and googled recipes. I started to get hungry at about 2:30 pm, so I had half a red grapefruit. I read that on a low FODMAPs diet that you shouldn’t combine fruits with other foods so I am trying to eat my fruit as snacks (except for berries- those taste good on my summer salad). I then sat down to watch A Beautiful Mind. I’ve seen the movie before, but it had been awhile. My gosh, what a wonderful story. The acting is incredible! I highly recommend it! Halfway through watching it I become so hungry my stomach hurt. It was only 4:50 pm, but bellies don’t know time. I had a chicken breast mixed with vegetables: parsnips, carrots, zucchini, and tomatoes, as well as broth all heated up in a… you guessed it! A bowl.

I’m not sure if because my stomach was hurting when I ate my dinner (I assumed the stomach ache was from hunger) or what is was, but as soon as I finished eating I became gassy. Probably TMI, but oh well.

Besides all of that, it was a good day and I’m going to try and go for a run tomorrow, that is, if I don’t wake up hungry. Once I eat, game over. I can no longer exercise. Now, I’m going to spend the rest of my night by playing Rummikub with my mom, painting my nails, and writing letters to my grandmother and Compassion International child, Biencalove.

Leave a Reply

